The Château de Fontainebleau is a big part of French history! This vast building, in both classical and Renaissance style, is not only famous for witnessing Napoleon's imperial adventure.
The town of Melun, which houses the department's administrative offices, has grown around its island and on the banks of the Seine since it was established over 2,000 years ago. It was a royal town from the 11th century and through the Middle Ages, and still features a wealth of prestigious monuments.
This 17th century masterpiece combines the genius of three highly talented artists brought together by Nicolas Fouquet: the architect, Louis Le Vau, the decorator, Charles Le Brun, and the landscape architect André Le Nôtre.
Maison de la Faïence
Discover the earthenware activity of Rubelles at the village's museum devoted to its memory.
Blandy-les-Tours is a medieval fortress last one left as well restaured in the Ile-de-France region.
Lieu de Mémoire Leroy
The factory of Europe's first wallpaper manufacturer, Leroy, was established in 1912 in Ponthierry where it played an important role in the growth of the local economy, until it closed in 1982.
National Gendarmerie museum in Melun
For the first time ever, the Gendarmerie Nationale Museum puts its heritage on display to the general public. A rich collection as diverse as it is plentiful, to immerse the visitor in the past of this institution (duties, lifestyle, resources, etc.).
Le pont de Maincy
Le Pont de Maincy est situé dans le hameau de Trois-Moulins, près du "Moulin d'en bas". Il traverse l'Almont, et fut construit en 1822 par le colonel Thomson pour accéder à sa demeure (château de Coudray).
Melun municipal Museum
Located in the Vicountcy House, a 16th century home that belonged to Nicolas Fouquet, the Melun museum was created in 1860.
Collégiale Saint Martin de Champeaux
Dès le VII siècle, Sainte Fare fonde ici un prieuré dépendant de Faremoutiers (monastère de femmes).
Abbaye Notre Dame du Lys
The Cistercian abbey of Notre Dame du Lys was founded by Saint Louis and his mother, Blanche of Castille, in 1244. The nuns, who came from the abbey of Maubuisson, moved in in 1248.
Welcome to the landscape painter’s village at the edge of the Fontainebleau forest.
This charming village between fields and forest was a homestead to many painters who made the place famous throughout the world.
Museum Henri Chapu
Drawings, small-scale models and gips models of the French sculptor Henri Chapu (1833-1891), distinguished by the prix de Rome in 1855.
Air and space museum SAFRAN in Réau
Aircrafts, motors and space propulsion are the main issues of a unique collection set up in this museum.
The gothic church of Saint-Aspais, a listed Historical Monument, is Melun's largest church. This striking "irregular trapezoidal" structure features sculptures, 16th-century stained glass windows and a steeple that all add to its uniqueness.
Notre-Dame Collegiate Church is a listed Historical Monument. Founded by King Robert le Pieux, it is an example of Romanesque art from 11th-century Melun.
Le Prieuré Saint-Sauveur
Saint-Sauveur priory is one of Melun's oldest monuments. Its remains were added to the historical monuments list in 1946.
Hôtel de Ville
Successively a convent, a luxury dwelling and a tax office, this 19th-century building in Melun is now the Town Hall.
Place de la Préfecture
The square named Place de la Préfecture has played an important role in Melun's history since the Middle Ages. Saint-Père Abbey and Saint-Barthélémy Church both stood here. The square is now occupied by the Seine-et-Marne prefecture and departmental council.
La fontaine et la place Saint-Jean
Place Saint Jean, where once stood a fortified gate, is now a busy central square featuring a 19th-century fountain.